2016 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Field, Barriers & Odds

Queen Elizabeth Stakes

The 2016 Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a Group 1 horse race that is the major race on the final day of The Championships, which is held at Royal Randwick during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

The second edition of The Championships will be held over two weekends at Royal Randwick in April; with the Queen Elizabeth Stakes held alongside the Group 1 Sydney Cup, Group 1 Australia Oaks and Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes as well as a number of other Group 2, Group 3 and Listed events on Saturday 9th April 2016.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes Special Offer:
Get up to $700 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes will be still be run over 2000 metres with weight-for-age conditions, but is now worth a staggering $4 million in prize money, which Racing New South Wales administrators hope will draw some of the biggest names in world racing to The Championships.

The Championships Day 2

The Championships is a two day series of the biggest races in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. Featuring a stunning eight Group 1 events and worth around $20 million, The Championships truly lives up to its namesake. Alongside the Queen Elizabeth Stakes on Day 2, there are a number of other top quality races:

Related & Upcoming Group Races

Group 1

Sydney Cup





Group 1

All Aged Stakes





Group 1

Champagne Stakes





Group 2

Emancipation Stakes




3yo&Up Fillies & Mares SWP

Group 3

Frank Packer Plate




3yo SW

Group 1

Robert Sangster Stakes




Fillies & Mares WFA

Group 1

The Goodwood





Queen Elizabeth Stakes Related Races

Punters and racing enthusiasts often keep a close eye on the Queen Elizabeth Stakes winners and placegetters to guide them with their Melbourne Cup wagers.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes has always drawn a strong field of locally-trained stayers and talented horses like Jeune (1995), Doriemus (1996) and Might And Power (1998) have all gone on to win the Group 1 after taking out the Melbourne Cup.

There are a number of other horses who have won the race multiple times including Grand Armee (2004 and 2005), Intergaze (1997 and 1999) and Tulloch (1958, 1960 and 1961).

As it is held towards the end of the  Sydney Autumn Carnival, punters have plenty of opportunity to gauge the form of the runners in the series of lead-up races including the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes, the Group 1 Australian Derby and the Group 1 The BMW. If you keep a look out for the carnival’s standout performers and prize winners when making your selections for the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, you will be well on your way to seeing your own racing riches!

Queen Elizabeth Stakes History

Since its inception in 1851, when Cossack scored an impressive victory r, the Queen Elizabeth Stakes has seen a number of length and name changes. Originally run over a gruelling distance of 24 furlongs (approximately 4800 metres), only the toughest and most dedicated stayers crossed the finish line first.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes was originally introduced to the racing calendar as a Principal event and was elevated to Group 1 status in 1980. The race has maintained its Group 1 status and in 2014 the prizemoney on offer was increased to an incredible $4 million – making it the most lucrative race during the 2014 Sydney Autumn Racing Calendar.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes – Race Name Changes:

Below is a record of the various names the race has been registered as over its history.

  • 1851-1872: Queens Plate.
  • 1873 – 1954: AJC Plate. Note: in 1934 the race was known as the AJC Kings Cup.
  • 1954- Present Date: Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes – Race Distance Changes:

Here are all the dates and distances the race has been run over.

  • 1851-1922: 24 furlongs (approx. 4800m).
  • 1923-1941 & 1947-1953: 18 furlongs (approx. 3600m).
  • 1944-1946: 14 furlongs (approx. 2800m).
  • 1954, 1979, 1971: 12 furlongs (approx. 2400m).
  • 1955 – 1969 & 1972: 11 furlongs (approx. 2200m).
  • 1973-1978 & 1984, 1985: 2400m
  • 1979-1983 & 1986-Present Day: 2000m.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes Field

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes field generally a number of the leading weight-for-age horses in Australia and can be run with a capacity field of 14 gallopers. The Group 1 event has failed to reach its maximum field in recent years, but Australian Turf Club officials believe that the increased prize money on offer from 2014 onwards will make the Queen Elizabeth Stakes one of the most hotly contested races on the Australian racing calendar. An ballot-exempt entry in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes field is offered to the winners of the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m), Group 1 The BMW (2400m), Group 1 Doncaster Mile and Group 1 Australian Derby (2500m). The 2014 Queen Elizabeth Stakes is set to feature a battle between the likes of Melbourne Cup winner Fiorente, five-time Group 1 winner It’s A Dundeel and talented three-year-old Shamus Award.

During the Sydney Autumn Carnival make sure you save some of your betting luck for the last race day and the Queen Elizabeth Stakes; it is one of you final chances to win big in the autumn racing season!

Click to Races.com.au for Horse Racing coverage of this year’s Melbourne Cup and find the best Melbourne Cup odds and Melbourne Cup betting prices.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes News

Kris Lees’ classy Newcastle-trained mare Lucia Valentina made it a Group 1 double for jockey Damien Oliver and connections on Day 2 of ‘The Championships’ at Royal Randwick on Saturday with her upset win in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2016. Earlier on the card owners won the Group 1 Australian…