Queen Elizabeth Stakes Winners

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes winners list contains a number of renowned horses. Names such as More Joyous, Tulloch, Lonhro, Archer and Grand Armee amongst other acclaimed horses form the archive of Queen Elizabeth Stakes winners. Gaining a place in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes results safeguards a horse’s reputation as a strong competitor.

Since Cossack won the inaugural race in 1851 the Queen Elizabeth Stakes results have been eagerly awaited by punters every year. Originally known as the Queen’s Plate, then from 1874 the AJC Plate, and from 1954 the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, winners have always found a respected place at the highest echelon of horse racing. With an initial length of 4800 metres, today’s Queen Elizabeth Stakes winners have to prevail over 2000m for $4 million prize money. The significant purse makes this one of the richest races in Australia, ensuring respect and continued success for all Queen Elizabeth Stakes winners.

Listed below are the Queen Elizabeth Stakes winners from 1970 onwards.

Year Winner
2017 Winx
2016 Lucia Valentina
2015 Criterion
2014 It’s A Dundeel
2013 Reliable Man
2012 More Joyous
2011 My Kingdom of Fife
2010 Road to Rock
2009 Pompeii Ruler
2008 Sarrera
2007 Desert War
2006 Eremein
2005 Grand Armee
2004 Grand Armee
2003 Lonhro
2002 Defier
2001 Shogun Lodge
2000 Georgie Boy
1999 Intergaze
1998 Might and Power
1997 Intergaze
1996 Doriemus
1995 Jeune
1994 Durbridge
1993 Veandercross
1992 Rough Habit
1991 Stylish Century
1990 Sydeston
1989 Our Poetic Prince
1988 Authaal
1987 Dinky Flyer
1986 Tristarc
1985 Rising Prince
1984 Chiamare
1983 Fountaincourt
1982 Prince Majestic
1981 My Blue Denim
1980 Iko
1979 Shivaree
1978 Ming Dynasty
1977 Ngawyni
1976 Taras Bulba
1975 Jandell
1974 Battle Heights
1973 Apollo Eleven
1972 Tails
1971 Gay Icarus
1970 Panvale